I Should Be Studying, But Instead I’m Baking Doughnuts…

Okay, super quick post! I couldn’t resist…

This has been a crazy week consisting of some serious coffee consumption, studying for 3 finals, and packing for the journey.

Long story short. I needed a study/work break.

And this is what my breaks consist of….

Yeah.

Sweet break, huh? Okay, my so called recess lasted about 4 hours.

I think breaks are essential to a good life though.

And doughnuts.

Especially, Ma’s Donuts. Yeah, all my New Beige people know what I’m talking about. WHAD UP.

Anyway, damn, it’s only Tuesday?

Four more days until I live in a car for 3 weeks! WOO!

Okay, I have to get back to studying.

Recipe from Cheeky Kitchen

Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts.

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 cup sugar
6 tablespoons butter
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk, here’s how to make it)
1 cup pumpkin puree

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, spice and sugar. Whisk together all of the remaining ingredients in a second, medium bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and stir them around the bowl until the mixture is well combined. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, rolling the doughnut dough to approximately 3/4″ thick, then cut with doughnut cutter.
Transfer to a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake in an oven preheated to 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes, or just until the donuts are cooked through. Dip immediately into buttermilk glaze. (With a fork, I poked some holes on the bottom to absorb some extra lovin’)

*If you don’t have a doughnut cutter, like me, use something around your house like this:
 



Tea balls aren’t just for tea, ya know.

Buttermilk Glaze
2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 tbsp melted butter

Whisk together in a small bowl until smooth. Dip hot doughnuts in the glaze, then allow to air dry on a cooling rack, or plate if you don’t have one.

Oh, and don’t forget about those little guys either. They need some lovin’ as well.

Not only are they baked instead of fried, but they have pumpkin in it…

Healthy?

I’d like to think so.

Oh, and are you a doughnut, or a donut person?

5 thoughts on “I Should Be Studying, But Instead I’m Baking Doughnuts…

  1. Ohhhh those donuts look sooo good. And pumpkin besides. Your blog makes me think of the time your father and I were on our way home from one of your track meets in RI and we wanted a double chocolate donut and it took us 5 Dunkin Donuts to find one that had them. Oh and I am going to stop at Ma’s Donuts Friday morning for the guys at work and I’ll save one or two to bring home.

Leave a Reply

