Thaddeus Makes Cookies

And the count down begins…until my birthday that is. Oh, did I tell you? Yes, my birthday is on Christmas. Go ahead, ask me:

Do you get more presents?

Wow, you must get ripped off, huh?

Are you Jesus?

Was it a curse, or a blessing for your mother?

OMG, you share the same birthday as Jesus?

The first birthday cake I can remember said, “Happy Birthday Stephanie & Jesus.”

Look.

I can deal with celebrating my birthday on Christmas. I can even deal with sharing my bday with the man himself.

But please.

Please, let me have my own cake. No disrespect and all; it’s just that, well, I like my cake.


A lot.

So, since we’re in the twenty five days of Christmas, I thought I would start the first day of December off with…

COOKIES! (I realize my last post was about cookies, but it’s cookie month, people.)

However, I was feeling…how should I say this…lazy.

So, when Tadz mentioned that he was in the mood to make cookies, I jumped on the opportunity.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Ladies and gents, let me introduce you to the baker, Thaddeus a.k.a. Tadz, Tadzy, Thad.


Whatever you feel is appropriate, here.

The decision was unanimous: sugar cookies.

Soft sugar cookies, actually. When you know your cookie type, you will discover who you truly are.

I have deep life philosophies.

For a kid who doesn’t know how to use a KitchenAid Mixer (you switch the button forward), he definitely kicked it up a notch.

Check that out…he’s piping cookie dough onto not one, but two cookie sheets. Man, I don’t even use two cookie sheets.

Dedication.

They ended up more like fluffy cookies rather than soft chewy cookies…

…with gak on them.

Yes, gak, as in the Nickelodeon green ooze poured over kids and adults on game shows. Pretty much the best stuff ever.

On cookies though?

…Still the best stuff ever.

Caution: Due to the outrageous neon colors, do not look directly at cookies when frosting. I swear, I’m still seeing spots.

Yep, I’d say I’ve successfully transformed my roomies into foodies.

These may have been possibly the ugliest Christmas cookies I’ve ever been a part of making, but sometimes it’s not about the cookies…

Who am I kidding? It’s totally about the cookies.

Tadzy did an awesome job though, and I hope he didn’t intimidate you with his piping skills. These are quick and easy to make. Don’t worry, you don’t have to make the same neon-gak frosting we created. We just ran out of milk, and had to improvise with royal icing. The cookie itself isn’t super sweet, which is why they are meant to be dressed up with frosting.

Perhaps, butter cream?

Recipe by Jenna at EatLiveRun.com

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

5 1/2 tablespoons butter, softened

1/3 cup buttermilk

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

Cream together the soft butter and sugar in a KitchenAid (or by hand!) until light and fluffy. Add the egg and beat for about three more minutes until well combined. Alternate adding the buttermilk and the flour to the butter, starting and ending with the flour. Add the vanilla and beat on medium until everything is combined and the batter is smooth.

Pipe out (or scoop out) the batter onto a lined baking sheet, leaving about two inches of space between each cookie. Bake for about twelve minutes or until the edges start to turn golden. Let cool and frost with your choice of butter cream frosting, royal icing, or whatever your craving!

Quick Tips:

Piping these cookies can be made possible by placing the batter into a plastic baggy and cutting the corner off.

We didn’t have any buttermilk, so we made some!

How?

1 tbsp lemon juice or white vinegar in 1 cup of milk

let stand for 5 minutes

Super easy and Bill Nyeish, no?

4 thoughts on “Thaddeus Makes Cookies

  1. I can answer the question of your Christmas birthday being a curse or a blessing. Of course it was a total blessing. There could not have been a better Christmas present than a beautiful healthy Stephanie Rose! (although were thought of changing it to Noelle or Holly). And we always celebrated your birthday a month before in November when you were younger so you had your own special day.
    OK I could go on and on, but I’ll just stop now. :)

Leave a Reply

