Happy Food Day!

So, this is my family.

Photo Courtesy of Catherine Reusch Daley

There’s really six people there: 5 ladies and 1 gentleman.

Life’s a blast.

And oh, yeah, today’s Thanksgiving, huh? But you know, everyday at the Reusch residence is Thanksgiving. There’s no such thing as dainty meals around here. We always need at least 3 side dishes, sometimes even 2 main courses, and always

always

always

dessert.

Wait! Before I go on, I have a nagging question that I must ask you. When does your family actually sit down for Thanksgiving?

Since the beginning of my life, I was made to believe that Thanksgiving dinner was always around noontime. About a year ago, my life was turned upside down after learning the truth about Thanksgiving.  Are we the only family that does not eat around dinner time?

HOW DO YOU WAIT THAT LONG?

Think about it…

You eat turkey for lunch, and turkey for dinner!

It’s like having Thanksgiving twice!

As you can tell, family dinners are the highlight of life for us.

As well as desserts.

In fact, the turkey is not the star of Thanksgiving around here, either.

I must give credit, where credit is due. From the bottom right hand corner counter clockwise: Chocolate Cheesecake by Rose (me), Chocolate Cream Pie and Pumpkin Pie (real pumpkin!) by Sarah Reusch, Maple Pecan Tart and Raspberry Crostata, both by Sammy. Desserts not featured: Rice Pudding by Mama, and Maple Whipped Cream, or heaven in whipped cream form.

Oh, and these….

Homemade Coconut Delight Girl Scout Cookies, created by Sammy, the other foodie daughter. Dear Lord. I think I ate my body weight in these.

Desserts have clearly taken over the spot light. As they should.

And you can bet ya bottom dolla that I tried every single one, too.

Happy Food Day, everyone :)

4 thoughts on “Happy Food Day!

  1. There is not much to say, except that we have to eat early because the hunters have to get back into the woods for the afternoon hunt and so a tradition is formed out of necessity.

  2. I know I have been slacking on your blog but I must say that family picture is quite epic, especially Mahk :)

    it’s a good thing im not staring right now cuz those pictures are fantastic the dessert is literally jumping out of screen…well not literally lol

Leave a Reply

