Remember, Remember the 25th of November

So, I may have a slight obsession with pumpkin.

It’s strange, really. You see, I used to despise pumpkin.

Loathe it is more like it.

Remember, remember the 25th of November…

Oh, I remember like it was yesterday, alright. It was around 11:23 P.M.  as I innocently ventured into the kitchen for some Thanksgiving leftovers. There was all but one dessert I had left to conquer.

There it was.

Seducing me with it’s 8×8 round, tender body, was a pumpkin pie.

How could I have refused? So, I snagged that pie and conquered!

Three hours later and Steph was defeated.

I’d rather not publicly share the rest of that story, but if you want to meet for a cup of coffee and oh, say, a slice of German chocolate cake, I’d consider it.

To this day, I am still on the search for whomever is responsible for baking that pie; the pie that altered my life for three years.

(If you happen to know of, or have any information regarding the pumpkin pie-maker who attended a Reusch Thanksgiving the year of 2007, please contact Stephanie Reusch.)

This is where I will end my story of November the 25th. I’m afraid that if I go any further with this tale, I may have a pumpkin-hating relapse.

So, how did pumpkin and I reunite, you ask?

I don’t quite remember, really. Sometimes, the stars and cosmos align, and everything just falls into place.

If I had to pinpoint it though, I think it may have been around this time last year that I finally started to come around to my fellow orange nemesis.

I was roaming the internet for some good eats when I wandered upon this site. Not to be confused with Joy, which is another fabulous site for baking. I saw these,

and thought, dear lord, I must have, now.

And so I baked.

And so I ate.

And so, my friends, I fell in love again. It was love at first bite. (Oh, blog call out!)

Pumpkin and I have shared a meal everyday since then…

Okay, that is just a blatant lie, but I have recently made an obsessive amount of pumpkin goodies within the last 3-4 weeks…

Pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Simply elegant. Can be used as a crowd pleaser at your holiday party, or a bribery tool to get your boyfriend to drive to Rhode Island at 8:30 on a Friday night.

Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. A great snack to take camping ;)

Pumpkin pancakes + one chocolate chip pancake. Hey, gotta please those pumpkin-haters. I don’t want any mass riots.

Pumpkin cranberry bars. Fresh cranberries are the way to go.

Some other goodies I have made, but not captured on camera: pumpkin oats, pumpkin granola, and pumpkin ravioli.

And I’m about to make some pumpkin seeds! But no pumpkin pie. I just don’t think I’m quite ready for that, yet.

Have you ever had a bad experience with food? If so, don’t pull a Steph, and let it defeat you for three years of your life. Face your fears. You’ll be a better foodie, (or person, whatever you want to call yourself) if you do.

Oh, oops, I don’t know how that got in here.

3 thoughts on “Remember, Remember the 25th of November

  1. OK I have heard you talk about pumpkin oatmeal several times now and I WILL try it. I’ll let you know how it goes. By the way, I was not the 2007 Thanksgiving pumpkin pie maker. Love the blog.

  2. I’ll bring the german chocolate cake if I get to hear that story, hah. I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad food experience… that I can think of…

    I love that you wrote this post JUST as I wrote my “too. much. pumpkin.” post! lol But you know I love pumpkin!

    Those cupcakes look to DIE for. Yum.

    xo

Leave a Reply

