Sir Chocolate, Meet My Good Friend, Mr. Peanut Butter.

(Tacky title, I know, but when I saw this picture, I immediately imagined a conversation between peanut butter and chocolate going down that way. I mean look at that jar of peanut butter… he is clearly a Mister. )

Once upon a Saturday morning, while listening to some music and reading some food blogs, I suddenly started craving some luscious milk chocolate. Suddenly, my music stopped, and I heard a faint voice persuading me to indulge in a Reese’s peanut butter cup…

…I may have a slight obsession with chocolate, I’ll admit that.

I may even have a tin of dark chocolate covered almonds tucked away in my car. Or maybe, I place pieces of sea salt dark chocolate randomly and then forget about them, so a week later when I find them, I scream with joy.

Yes, I am a nutritionist who stashes chocolate. Am I ashamed to admit it? No, and you all should have your stash to go to for a choco pick me up. (In moderation, of course. And hey, it’s dark chocolate…antioxidants, right?)

However, the voices were not from my chocolate withdrawals. Those damn Pandora commercials: annoying, right? But it got me thinking…

Chocolate. Peanut Butter.

Sweet. Salty.

Ladies and gents, I’m not sure there is a better pair. Okay, maybe there are, but this is up there in my top 5, at least.

Seriously, how can you go wrong! (I apologize for those who have peanut allergies. But hey, there’s always Nutella, right?)

Anywho, as I laid wrapped in my twin sized comforter (I was spoiled with my King last year), freezing my tootsies off because I was too cold to turn the heat on (you see the problem there, don’t you?),  I dreamt of ways to blend the two together. Not just any old peanut butter and chocolate chip cookie would do. No, I needed to step up my game. I needed to create something legend-… wait for it… and I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the second half of that word is DAIRY! (Legendary for those of you non-fans of How I Met Your Mother. I heart How I Met Your Mother…legendary show in itself.)

Hmm, but where could I find a recipe that was going to live up to that?

Well, throughout the course of my foodie nerd web-surfing, I came across this new food blog. Joy the baker has some of the best friggen baked goods I’ve never (yes, I meant never) eaten in my life. You can practically taste them through your computer screen. I highly recommend checking her blog out. I may even force you.

After wiping the drool from my mouth, I decided to use one of her recipes that best represented the famous taste-bud combo.

Allow me to introduce you to:

Peanut Butter Blondies with Milk Chocolate Frosting

Score.

Sweet and salty heaven in a bar.

Maybe it was the love from the chocolate and peanut butter married together to make a sweet and salty combo that was so irresistibly legendary. Or quite possibly, it was the smooth milk chocolate frosting blanketing these bad boy blondies.

One thing is for sure, these bars have some pretty powerful effects on people. I took one bite, and I felt the love. Ask my roomie, Hayden, how they were. Although it wasn’t clocked, we may have shared a solid 5 minute hug as a result of this magnificent pairing of foods.

Looking for an A on that next Chemistry test? Want to score a date with that cutie you’ve been checkin’ out in English class? Or maybe, you just wanna feel the love yourself. How, you ask? Make the bars. Share the love.

These bars have powers. Take full advantage.

Right, so here’s how you can take advantage of people…oh, I mean make these bars to share with someone special.

P.S. As Joy mentioned, you’re gonna need some milk. A gallon preferably. Oh, and some friends because you’ll end up eating the whole pan if you choose to go stingy.

Recipe from Joy The Baker

Peanut Butter Blondies with Milk Chocolate Frosting

makes one dozen big brownies in a 9×13-inch pan

10 Tablespoons unsalted butter cut into 5 cubes

2 cups dark brown sugar

1 cup smooth and natural peanut butter

2 eggs

2  teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease a 9×13-inch pan, line with parchment paper if you have it on hand, then grease the parchment paper.  If you don’t have parchment paper, these blondies will be just fine.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter and sugar together until the butter is just melted.

Butter and brown suga. Yum.

It should look like this once the butter is melted.

Remove from the burner and allow to cool for 5 minutes, then add the peanut butter.  Stir until incorporated.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes more, then whisk in the eggs and vanilla extract.  You want the sugar, butter and peanut butter mixture to be cool enough that the eggs won’t begin to cook when they’re added in.

Whisk together salt, flour and baking powder.  Add dry ingredients all at once to the wet ingredients.  Stir until just incorporated.

It will start to get pretty thick, so your spoon should be able to stand up by itself.

Pour the thick batter into the prepared pan and smooth out.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center of the blondies comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature before frosting.

See how it pulled from the side there? That blondie is done!

Okay, now that your blondie is chillen, you can get crackin on the good stuff…

Milk Chocolate Frosting

6 Tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 – 2 cups powdered sugar

3 Tablespoons milk

3/4 cup milk chocolate chips, melted

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the butter, cocoa powder and salt.

Ah, the day my Kitchen Aid mixer bestowed itself into my life was a day that will never be forgotten. Excuse my awkward face.

Don’t worry if you don’t have one of these. I mean if you’re cool, you will have one. The truth hurts, I know.

No worries though; you can just grab your grandma’s hand-mixer.

Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar followed by 1 tablespoon milk.  Beat well.  Add another cup of powdered sugar, followed by 2 tablespoons of milk.  Melt milk chocolate chips in the microwave or in a double boiler.

It should look like this at first, but wait for it because it gets oh so better.

Add the melted chips to chocolate frosting and beat to incorporate.

oh. my. chocolate.

Go ahead. Try it now. You will not stop.

You can add the final 1/2 cup of powdered sugar if you need a bit more thickness, but I didn’t need this.  Spread evenly over peanut butter blondies.

Share wisely.

7 thoughts on “Sir Chocolate, Meet My Good Friend, Mr. Peanut Butter.

  1. first of all, my mouth is watering. Why didn’t i get a personalized baggie with THIS blondie?? i dont know but you owe me. Also, i love you. and this blog. Its genius and a wonderful writer! u make me laugh, especially when u add more pictures of chocolate because you know your readers are salivating. Anywhoo I came up with something that is going to be your claim to fame. Call me sometime, I’ll let you know.

  2. I came upon your blog at the end of a long night. I was just talking to Charlie and Emma & Fluff ( your Dad just left for IL) telling ’em I was really needing something chocolately. I decided there was nothing in the house. Then I read your blog about stashing chocolate just for this type of emergency! How’d you do that? Then I keep reading and I just busted out laughing ( out loud)over the 5 minute hug and the picture of you and your machine. You are just precious!!

    p.s. do you have any stashed choco you may have left around here?

  3. can you come home please? cause i see your blog and it makes me want your cooking. sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo yeah :)

  4. I’v had the biggest craving for Reese’s Peanut Butter cups recently. They are quite hard to find around here in the UK, but I managed to track some down in a superstore about twenty minutes away (yes that is after checking every shop, garage and convenient store in my town!) Unfortunately I only bought one packet, and ended up sharing them with my boyfriend, which I know is the best thing for my waistline, but for my sanity? Not so much! I still have the cravings! I’m gonna have to either drive twenty minutes to buy some more (and this time in BULK!) or I’m going to have to give this recipe a go!

Leave a Reply

