Solo Dinner, Part II: For You Challenged Omelet Flippers

Phew, I can finally breathe for a night or two. It’s been a hectic couple of weeks getting adjusted to the new job, but you betta believe I’ve still made time fo’ food! As mentioned in my last post, I promised I would share with you my solo dinners, which I have been having more and more lately because of my crazy schedule. Here’s the latest meal you can whip up in no time…

Veggie Frittata: so simple and really quick for someone like me who needs instantaneous food results!

Tadz's Veggie Linguicia Frittata

Here’s how you can make yours:

Gather up your favorite veggies, and if you don’t have any then there’s always meat, right?  Bacon, sausage, ham, chicken… Whatever your cravin’, but get crackin’ and sautee that up! If you have the extra time, you could even roast your veggies for a different flavor as well. I sauteed some spinach, peppers, onions, corn, and yes, garlic.

Oh, did I  ever share with you my new found love?

Meet the cast iron skillet. Together, we share an unconditional love. I massage him with oil after a long night of cooking and he provides me with the goods. Some call it true love, others find it… well you can fill it in. But in all seriousness, you can do anything from baking brownies to sauteing veggies in these puppies. Sure, you can get the fancy ones at William Sonoma, but the real keepers are at the yard sales. I’m a 70-year-old woman, yes I know, and I have come to terms with this…

Anywho, while your veggies are getting toasty warm in your skillet, take this opportunity to release some frustration by beating up your eggs. Don’t get crazy though, those eggs are just there to help; they didn’t do anything to you. You can use as many eggs as you’d like, but I suggest a minimum of 2 eggs (egg whites and/or whole). Mix in several splashes of milk for some extra fluff. If you like your eggs really fluffy then try some cream in there…ah, it’s like yellow puffy clouds bouncing in your mouth.

I was trying to be a little healthy, so I chose skim milk and egg whites. Don’t let me be a buzz kill on your taste buds though. Everything in moderation as my nutrition side would say. Don’t forget your salt and peppa! And I like to add garlic powder because well… I just add it to everything. Remember folks, there’s always an opportunity to add more flavor at any stage of the preparation.

Once your veggies are cooked to your liking (crispy, crunchy, mushy, etc.),  pour in your egg mixture. It should slightly cover your veggies, and then you can add your favorite cheese (in any crazy amount that you like.. I’m not here to judge).

Let it cook for about 2-3 minutes on medium-low heat. You don’t want to cook your eggs all the way here. Once your eggs look semi-cooked, place them into the… Oh, suga! Did I tell you to preheat the oven? See, if you’re like me, I always forget this part. Now, I could let my oven rule my life, but most likely I’ll choose to conquer by throwing that bad boy in the UNpreheated oven. But, you didn’t hear that from me, and there’s no way I’ll get away with that one in culinary school.

Word of advice: don’t do the whole conquering approach for baking… ever.

So, before you start on your solo dinner, be sure to preheat your oven to 350 degrees like the responsible good cook that you are. ;)

This is where a cast iron skillet comes in handy. If you’re using one then you can just transfer the whole thing straight into that preheated oven. If not then be sure that whatever pan/skillet you’re using is actually oven safe! You don’t want to pull a “I won’t mention their name” and put a frying pan with a plastic handle in the oven…too graphic to go into details for this blog.

It should only take about 3-4 minutes for the eggs to pull away from the sides…

All frittatas aside for the moment, lets take a little jump backwards in time. A little earlier, while contemplating what I was going to eat that night, I decided it was time. Time for what, you ask? Butternut squash, of course.

And the BEST way (and I don’t say that lightly) to eat this curiously, strange looking squash is to roast it. Oi, what a treat. A treat? Oh yes, a treat. If you have never eaten roasted butternut squash before, I advise you to get on that… and by that… I mean this instant.

‘Tis the season for butternut squash, so what are you waiting for!

It’s real simple: Cut up a butternut squash (keep them all the same size; ideally no thicker than 1 inch), and you can leave the skin on or off. More fiber to ya if you leave it on. (A little side note: If you don’t have a diesel peeler then just roast it with the skin on, let it cool, and then it should peel off easily for you.) Slap ’em on a cookie sheet, and drizzle a bit of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil). Some salt, pepper, and garlic powder (if you’re a feen like me) would jazz em up, but even plain, this squash is delish. Toss them into your PREHEATED oven for 425 degrees for 45 minutes and BAM! (no Emeril intended there) you have yourself a surprisingly, lovely sweet veggie treat. I may, or may not have eaten the whole butternut squash by myself….I swear this squash was candy in it’s previous life! I am not just a weirdo veggie-lover!

Here’s the final dish all together now:

Yes, this will most likely fill your plate as well as your tummy depending upon the size of your skillet/pan. You could split it with whomever you please, or eat it all by yourself like I did….yum

My roomies, Tadz and Zach, made one with added Linguica (Portuguese sausage), so don’t let all my veggies scare ya. You can toss in your favorite meat, drizzle some hot sauce, ketchup, BBQ sauce, chocolate; whatever you’re into. This dish is truly versatile, and you can make it whenever you want, with anything you want. Get crazy! I’d love to hear your frittata recipes/ideas if you have any! This isn’t just a dinner idea; it’s great for breakfast, too.

And for all you challenged omelet flippers (I know you’re out there), with these frittatas, you’ll get away with fooling those doubters into thinking you’re an expert in the art of flipping zee omelet. So here’s to you, challenged omelet flippers… you know who you are.

Warm double chocolate chunk cookie with vanilla chai ice cream...heaven in a bowl

Oh, and I may have had a little dessert and tea to completely satisfy my solo dinner night : )

 

 

Veggie Frittata Recipe

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
your choice of veggie favorites (in any amount that you’d like, and feel free to add meat!)
4 eggs
pepper
salt
garlic powder
2 splashes of milk, or cream
1/4 cup of shredded cheese (or more if you’re a cheese feen)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
Find your favorite skillet, (preferably cast iron) and add 2 tablespoons of EVOO, and turn the heat to medium.

While your skillet is heating up, chop up those veggies.

NOTE: If you chose to add garlic, make sure you add this towards the end because it’s super easy to burn those little bits!

Once your oil is hot, throw in those veggies so they can get a little sautee loving.

Resist the urge to stir the veggies! It’s tempting, I know. Walk away, slowly, from the pan and focus your attention on those eggs.

Add all four eggs to a bowl with salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste. Add a couple of splashes of milk/cream, and whisk together.

Now you can check out your veggies, and depending upon how you like them, ( I like mine crunchy), you can add your egg mixture to the skillet.

DO NOT STIR THE EGGS AND VEGGIES! Again, I know the whole stirring thing is so tempting, but unless you want scrambled eggs then I’d advise walking away again, but only for 2 minutes!

Grab your shredded cheese and add it to the top of the frittata. The eggs should still look undercooked after 2 minutes.

Transfer the skillet into the preheated oven for 3-4 minutes, or until the eggs start to pull away from the sides of the pan.

Add your favorite sauce, maybe a a side of fruit, fresh bread, and you have yourself a lovely breakfast, lunch, or even dinner :)

10 thoughts on “Solo Dinner, Part II: For You Challenged Omelet Flippers

  1. Steph, I should have been referred to this site earlier!!! I now have a healthy plan for tomorrow’s dinner!! As my miles are ever so slowly increasing so must my healthy intake of yummy but nutrious food. I’ll be coming back here for some ideas!!!! I love the butternut squash piece.

  2. First off that picture you have (the first one) made me want to go into the kitchen and whip up some of thse eggs and veggies even though it is 9:27 pm. However you know me and cooking.So… I finished reading the blog instead chuckling the whole time and learning a few things along the way. By the way Mem would be proud of the reference to the yard sale pan – not sure about the 70 year old woman crack though. Good job Steph!

  3. Steph,

    This blog is amazing!!! I feel like a star is being born! I love your dialogue…witty with a touch of New England! ;) Keep em coming…thoroughly entertaining and yummy!

    Love,
    Mama Gagnon oxoxox

    1. Thanks Cindy! Glad you checked it out… and I love to put brown sugar in it as well. I usually mash it up like potatoes and add a little bit of cinnamon to it. Great suggestion :)

  4. That cup looks very familiar! I think that apple crisp last night was just the ticket to help me over that stomach ache! Besides my dwindling cup supply I want to also give another shout out for cast iron cook ware and french presses, they don’t use electricity and will last forever!!!!

Leave a Reply

